Heres a book review for you from Suzanne

I can highly recommend to readers ‘The Reason I Jump’ by Naoki Higashida. It has a forward by David Mitchell who helped translate it. The author is a 13 year old boy with severe autism. Although unable to speak he has written this amazing book. It lets you in to the world of living with autism and how things affect him and why. Chapters are very short and start with a question such as ” Why don’t you do what you’re told to straight away?’,’Why do you line up your toy cars and blocks?’, ‘What causes panic attacks and meltdowns?’ I am a parent of a 6 year old boy with autism. Of all the books and literature I’ve read on autism( and I’ve read many!) this has to be the most powerful and insightful. I finally feel that I can begin to understand my gorgeous boy and most importantly be able to help and support him better.

Leave a Reply

